How To Block Or Unblock Someone In The Clubhouse App

How To Block Or Unblock Someone In The Clubhouse App

Clubhouse may only be in its infancy, but that doesn’t mean the fast-growing social media platform isn’t bugged by some of the old problems found on other social media platforms. To be specific, there are no guarantees that everyone you interact with will be courteous, respectful, and observe the platform’s rules of engagement. Sometimes it could even be a difference of opinion that ends up boiling over, making future interactions with a person no longer a good idea. Moreover, in May 2021 when Clubhouse open up for Android user, this issue become more serious.

There’s always going to be differences in opinion, and you’re not obliged to agree with everyone. You can say no, and if the person started to have harsh speech and words, you may wish to avoid talking to this person. In these circumstances, hitting the block button would be appropriate.

In this article, want to show you how to block someone on Clubhouse.

How to Block Someone on Clubhouse on the iPhone

If a user harasses you or shares inappropriate content, you may choose to send Clubhouse administrators an incident report. If you do this, the user will receive an official warning or further action taken, depending on the gravity of the situation. This will take some time, and you might not want to wait for it. You can also choose to solve the problem yourself by blocking them. Clubhouses’ community guidelines allow you to do so. By putting the person to the blocking list, you can just say bye to him/her.

Here’s how:

How To Block Or Unblock Someone In The Clubhouse App

Navigate to the user’s profile directly or enter their name in the search tab located in the top left-hand corner. Click on the ellipsis – the three dots in the top right. From the dropdown, select “block.” In the pop-up screen, select “block” to confirm.

What Happens When You Block Someone on Clubhouse?

When you block someone, they will neither see nor join a room you’ve created or one in which you’re a moderator or speaker.

Whenever a blocked user is a speaker in a room you’ve joined, you’ll still be able to see the room and even join in to speak or just listen. However, the app pushes the room to the lower part of your feed.

If you and the blocked user join a room merely as listeners, you won’t get any notification.

And if you’re worried that the user you’ve blocked will find out about it, well, they won’t. The app doesn’t alert them at all. They just won’t be able to join your rooms or listen in as you speak in any room.

Can I See a List of All the Users I’ve Blocked on Clubhouse?

It would be a good idea to create a list of all the users you’ve blocked over time. This would make it possible to batch unblock profiles if you decide to get them back to the fold.

Unfortunately, you can’t see everyone you’ve blocked at a glance. The only way to find out whether you’ve already blocked a user is to open their profile and click on the ellipsis in the top right.

Can I Remove a User’s Profile From Clubhouse Completely?

In some cases, blocking a user may not be enough. As we’ve seen above, anyone you’ve blocked won’t be able to listen any time you speak in a room, but you can still open a room where they are speaking. What if you don’t want to leave that possibility open and simply want to see them gone completely?

You can help the app admins banish a profile from the app completely by sending an incident report. You can do this during a live audio session. By default, Clubhouse always keeps a transitory recording of the goings-on in a room. These recordings can be used to corroborate any reported incidents. If a user is found to have breached the app’s rules, they can be barred from using the app indefinitely.

It’s important to note that if you report an incident after a session has ended, the app’s admins will not have access to the transitory audio recording that can be used as evidence.

Additional FAQs
1. Can the Blocked Account Tell That They Have Been Blocked?

No. Other users won’t realize that you’ve blocked them. They will just stop coming across your rooms and will never be able to listen in when you’re speaking in a room.

2. What Happens When I Block Someone?

When you block someone, they will neither see nor join a room you’ve created or one in which you’re a moderator or speaker.

3. Why Do Some Profiles Have a Shield Symbol?

A “!” symbol on a user’s profile means that the user is already blocked by multiple individuals. The symbol is used as some kind of an alert to help you to decide on whether you will follow the user or allow them to speak freely in a room.

4. When You Unblock Someone on Clubhouse, Will They Know?

They won’t receive an alert indicating that you’ve unblocked them. However, they’ll be able to see and join all the groups you’ve created and even listen in as you speak in any group.

5. How Can I Mute a User on Clubhouse?

When you start a room, you automatically become the moderator. This role gives you the power to decide who can speak and who can’t. If you don’t want a specific user to speak, you can choose to mute them indefinitely. If you do so, they’ll still retain their ability to access the room and listen in on any conversation, but they won’t be able to actively participate.

6. Can a Moderator Remove a User From a Room?

Yes. If someone is being disrespectful, abusive, or generally distressing to other members of a room you’ve created, you have the power to kick them out, and they won’t be able to re-access the room.

Secure Your Clubhouse Experience

The block button can be an effective tool against anyone who breaches Clubhouses’ community guidelines or simply rubs you the wrong way. You don’t have to put up with incendiary comments or opinions that are in direct conflict with your principles.

And thanks to this article, you now know just what you need to do to block someone on Clubhouse.

What’s your experience on Clubhouse? Have you blocked anyone before?

What you gonna say about it?